50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Day 2: I Think I Can, I Think I Can, I Think I Can August 5, 2010

When I not working as a freelance writer or PR consultant, I spend my time taking care of my hubby and son, walking the dog, cleaning, preparing meals, running errands, gardening, sitting in front of the computer looking for full-time employment, stretching that all mighty dollar, and yes, watching TV. I admit it. I’m a reality show junkie. But that’s about to change, I’ve got to reduce my cholesterol and that means I’ve got to get moving!

From my trips to the Internet, I learned that a reasonable weight loss is .5 and 2 pounds a week. I want to lose .5 pounds a day if I’m going to reach my personal goal of losing 50 pounds in 100 days. To do this, it’s going to take eating fewer calories and exercising. And, according to my doctor, my recent EKG test said my ticker was working okay, so I’ve got no excuses.

When I was a kid, I danced ballet, jazz and tap. What I’d give to plie (plee-ay) in front of a ballet bar again. Today, my choice of exercise is going to be biking. I can control how tough I want to make the trip, and with all this extra weight, I can limit any negative impact to my ankles and knees.

To prep for this venture, I headed over to Mike’s Bikes. They checked out my daughter’s 10 speed and I had them add a speedometer. I then checked out BicycleUniverse.info and found “How to Use Bike Gears” so I could control the intensity of my pedaling by learning how to use the gears.

My goal is going to be five miles a day in 2nd gear switching between 4th and 5th rear gears. So with helmet on head, I climbed on my daughter’s 10 speed and keep a pace of 10 to 11 miles an hour. That’s about 281 calories burned according to Prohealth.com. (This site has a free calorie and activity counter, try it.) I felt the burn; Jillian would be proud. Add this to my daily walk in the park with Stacey May, our boxer/whippet mix, for another 163 burned calories and I’m feeling pretty good.

Daily bike rides, walks with Stacey May, eating between 1,500 and 1,800 calories daily, drinking 50 ounces or more of water and writing this blog; I’m feeling better already.

 

Leave a Reply

