50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Day 3: Lousy Metabolism? August 6, 2010

Filed under: Mom's Over 50,Weight Loss — Greta @ 1:32 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have a lousy metabolism, due primarily, I’m told, to the fact that I’ve had my thyroid removed. I really didn’t have the traditional hypo or hyper thyroid symptoms. But I did have a goiter the size of a goose egg in my neck. So I elected to have an operation to remove my thyroid and goiter. It turned out I had two goiters, both were removed and both were benign. Thank goodness.

But once you remove your thyroid, your metabolism is controlled by meds. For more than 17 years now, I’ve been hooked on Synthroid and gaining on average about 2.5 pounds a year. I once asked my endocrinologist to increase my meds as a way to increase my metabolism. He said that wasn’t going to work because the body uses only as much Synthroid as it needs and discards the rest. So it’s up to diet and exercise to impact my metabolism. Yuck.

My family doctor tried to warn me. He said it was going to be “really hard” to lose weight without a thyroid. But I know I can lose some weight. Last November, I dropped all sodas from my diet and lost 10 pounds in two weeks. You guessed it, I gained it all back when I broke down and added sodas back into my diet.  There’s something about drinking carbonated soda that I craved.  It started with sips of my son’s fountain sodas and then I simply added one can of soda a day and eventually gained all 10 pounds back.  So that’s where I am today…50 pounds overweight with lousy metabolism.

To learn more about thyroid disease, check out this link: www.thyroid.about.com.

 

3 Responses to “Day 3: Lousy Metabolism?”

  1. patty Says:

    It was such a pleasure of meeting you the other day in the dental office. I hope your son was happy. I am hoping to get motivated reading your blogs. I have hypo thyriod for almost 9 yrs and had a hystorectomy almost 3 yrs ago. So I use all this for reasons why I cannot lose weight. But I really need to do something.
    patty

  2. Vonnie Says:

    I have the same problem with sweets that you have with soda. People will offer me a chocolate chip cookie and say, oh you can have one. No, unfortunately I can’t. I’ll have five! Just a sliver of birthday cake. Sure, then another sliver, then a whole piece and on and on.

    Good luck on your journey – I’m rooting for you!


Leave a Reply

