50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Day 4: Déjà Vu August 7, 2010

I can’t tell you how many times I thought about losing weight, about exercising, doing something and yet didn’t. It’s heartbreaking. I’d watch one of those paid-commercial programs with their weight loss gadgets, buy it, wait for it to arrive and then wait for a good time to start. It never came.

I also remember starting to exercise, but something always seemed to stop me. In Florida, I tried exercising in our pool and just when I started to get into a regular pattern – we moved. In Colorado, I tried yoga. But when the guru told us to stick out our tongues and say “ahhh” – well I got kicked out for laughing too much. Guess I wasn’t too serious about the whole thing. I then joined in a water aerobics program at the YMCA, everyone in the pool was in their 60s, I was in my 40s. It was hard to fit it into my busy day and I wasn’t losing any weight, so I quit.

When I moved back to Florida, I started walking the dogs about a mile a day. That has continued and although I recently lost Scooter, my golden/chow mix, I still walk Stacey May, my boxer/whippet mix.

Here in South Carolina, on my 50th birthday, I joined a senior center. I was the youngest member they ever had. The price was right, $77 for the year, and they had great exercise equipment. But I started working again and the center’s hours weren’t conducive to my new hours, so I never went back. The only thing that I’ve been able to stick with is dog walking, and that’s probably because it’s as much for them as it is for me.

What I’ve learned looking back over the last 20 years is that the only thing stopping me from exercising – is me. I obviously didn’t think how I looked or felt physically was important enough for me to make the time or I was just being lazy. I’m disappointed in myself, but that’s about to change.

They say that if you can stick to something for 21 days, it becomes habitual. That explains the dog walking. So my first hurdle is to continue biking for 21 days. But biking and walking the dog won’t be enough if I’m going to reach my goal of losing 50 lbs. in 100 days. So I’ll have to keep calorie counting and continuing with no sodas or unhealthy snacks, drinking lots of water and making the right food choices. This is hard. Resisting old habits is hard.

I hope my 21 day goal helps. Goodness knows my health can’t afford for me to stop, and I don’t want to experience déjà vu in a few weeks as I realize I started — only to stop again. Not this time. Please, not this time…

 

One Response to “Day 4: Déjà Vu”

  1. Vonnie Says:

    All it really takes is discipline. In the past, I thought it was freeing to be undisciplined but now I realize it’s just laziness on my part and that’s not freeing at all! ugh. So from now on, don’t say, I hope my 21 day helps, say I expect my 21 day to help. Let me know if it works. 🙂


Leave a Reply

