50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Day 6: Managing The Secret to Dieting August 9, 2010

I’m a big fan of The Biggest Loser, and I enjoy it on the couch. I think they should spend three minutes at the beginning of each show explaining an exercise that we all have to do while watching it. I know I’d feel less guilty while Jillian screams at the contestants, if I was feelin’ the burn. If only she had a show for people who needed to lose 50 pounds. They could call it The Biggest Loser Prevention Program. I’d audition. Goodness knows I could use a Jillian in my life.

In the meantime, I’m riding my bike five miles a day, walking the dog and counting my calories. I’m eating on average around 1,550 calories. I’m drinking water, about 50 oz. a day, and staying away from soft drinks, juices and alcohol. My goal for this week is 3.5 pounds and I’ve had no real distractions. But I’ve hung my hat on the “secret to dieting” — eating less than you burn. I’m hoping eating less than 1,600 calories will guarantee me some weight loss. I’ll let you know on Wednesday morning when I stand on the scale.

Until then, I’m preparing myself for a road trip to New York next weekend. I’m trying to figure out what foods I can eat on the road and what I’m going to do about exercising as I won’t be able to take my bike. Which is easier said than done. I’ve got another 3.5 pounds to take off next week if I’m going to reach my goal of 50 pounds in 100 days. So over the next few days I’m going to be exploring food choices and food sources and alternative exercising. Your ideas are always welcome.

 

Leave a Reply

