50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Day 11: The Move August 17, 2010

I woke up ready for the day, but it felt weird not to jump on my bike and I missed Stacey May. Now worries though, I knew I’d get a workout moving stuff from one dorm to another. Breakfast was easy, a bowl of Raisin Brand from the hotel lobby and we reached Manhattan by 9:30 a.m.

We moved one van full of stuff into her room on the second floor and headed to her summer dorm to pack and load the van. It took two trips. How she/we got all that stuff into an 8-foot by 10-foot room, I’ll never know. We then stopped for lunch. I craved for a slice of REAL New York pizza, and if you only have one piece it’s 210 calories. Combine that with a Raspberry tea from Snapple and I came in under 300 calories! Dinner was around 400 calories as I split a tofu vegetable medley with my daughter and splurged on one egg roll.

As for the rest of the day, we spent one hour moving furniture around in her efficiency, only to find the original layout was best. She now has a small bath, galley kitchen and a living room that functions as a bedroom for two students. Her roommate would be moving in later. We were moving my daughter now as she had been a summer student living in another dorm. We then set up the kitchen, bath, and closet purging along the way. At 11:30 p.m., we stopped for the night crashing in her room on air mattresses. Ah, college life.

 

Leave a Reply

