50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Day 12: Falling Off the Wagon August 17, 2010

We finished purging her art supplies and packed the car with all the things we purged. Not quite a van full, but she has more space in her dorm room this year, so maybe it’s okay.

On our way back to South Carolina, the three of us were looking forward to seeing friends and family in my hometown, Baltimore, Md. The drive that should have taken less than four hours, took six. We were in bumper to bumper traffic and rainy weather. My lunch consisted of splitting a hotdog with my daughter. I continued with my water and munched on a plum and nuts.

We reached our best friends’ home at four and headed over to Bonefish Grill. It has to be one of the better chain restaurants that offer seafood. Here my knees buckled and I struggled as I said yes to a glass of wine, but it was good wine. I stayed with the broiled lump crab cake, only a sandwich this time and a salad, although I did munch on two of their famous spicy shrimps. It was hard to resist the bread, the butter and fries, but I did. I kept telling myself I had to keep to my goal, 50 pounds in 100 days. It’s a good thing I don’t go out like this often, but it was wonderful to get caught up with each other’s lives and enjoy good company.

We then headed over to see my brother and his family. We only stayed about an hour as his wife recently underwent surgery for colon cancer. She said that they got it all and we could see she was in great spirits. But they’d been through a lot recently. Her son was recently diagnosed with cancer and has been undergoing Chemotherapy. He too was in good spirits, as the Chemo was reducing his cancer cells and he was gaining weight. I was impressed by their resilience and dedication to family. My nephew, only 38, has too young boys. He says he’s planning on sticking around to raise them and I believe he will be.

While there, my brother suggested I have a colonoscopy. Not a pleasant experience, but sound advice. I’ll have to look into this fall. When I head back to the doctor to have my liver and cholesterol tested again, I’ll ask for a colonoscopy.

As we headed back to stay the night with our friends, my daughter insisted on a famous Maryland snowball. I had a small spearmint flavored snowball with Marshmallow and it was even better than the wine. A few nuts and grapes later, and I was done for the day. I definitely fell off the wagon. I didn’t exercise, I ate too much and I surely didn’t lose any weight.

To find out more about colon cancer and colonoscopy testing check out http://www.webmd.com/colorectal-cancer/colonoscopy.

 

Leave a Reply

