50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Day 14: Back to Basics and Lots and Lots of Water August 17, 2010

Our adventure is over and our daughter is home for a few weeks to get caught up on some much-needed rest. I’m pleased with our trip, her dorm room looked great and it’s good to have her home. As for me, I jumped back on the bike for my 5-mile ride and by the time I got back, Stacey May was ready for her walk. So it’s good to be back to my routine and that includes getting back to drinking more water.

I realized I wasn’t drinking enough fluids on the trip when my urine was a bright yellow. It explains why I was so thirsty when I eventually stopped to eat. You know you’re drinking enough water when your urine is a pale yellow. To get this shade, you need to drink about 10 to 12 cups of water a day. With water you improve your breathing, digestion, elimination and perspiration. By flushing our systems with water, we help our organs work better, improve our skin tone, help regulate our body temperature and blood circulation, improve digestion and the absorption of foods, affect our metabolic levels and improve our bowel cycles. It’s also credited with preventing diseases such as colon, bladder and breast cancer. And in support of my mission, it helps accelerate weight loss. So what was I thinking? Next time I get busy, I’m going to set a water break alarm on my cell phone so I’ll stop and take a swig.

With that said, I’m not expecting good things tomorrow morning when I jump back on the scale. It will be the end of my second week of my journey. If I’m on track to lose 50 pounds in 100 days, I will have to have lost seven pounds since I started. If I didn’t, I’m not going to get depressed over it. I’m simply going to keep moving forward and try to make up the difference between now and next Wednesday. So until next week, let’s reach for our glass of water and let’s “skoal” to our good health. “Cheers!”

 

Leave a Reply

