50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Day 9: Prep for NY Taxes My Wallet August 17, 2010

Filed under: Mom's Over 50,Weight Loss — Greta @ 3:49 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This day started normal, but ended with $500 less in my wallet. I finished my 5-mile bike ride and then drove my son to the local hospital where he’s part of the Scrubs Program. Under this Program, he volunteers to help nurses with their duties in various departments for a total of 40 hours and receives a certificate of completion. This is great for someone considering a career in medicine as you get to see what life in the medical profession is all about. He’s learned that nurses are hardworking and unappreciated, and that he’d rather be the doctor than a nurse.

After I dropped him off, I headed to a local car repair shop to get a quick oil change and have a break light replaced. All in preparation for our 750-mile trek to New York to move my daughter into her new dorm. But that didn’t happen. As soon as I pulled in and handed the mechanic my keys, my ignition switch died. The shop suggested I have it towed to a Honda Dealership. So I called AAA and had it towed to Stokes Honda. I had gone there before, but as my 2004 Honda Odyssey has 185,000 miles, I figure it doesn’t matter where I get my oil changes. But an ignition switch, definitely the dealership.

I immediately called the local rental car shops only to find that it would cost me $500 to rent a replacement van for our weekend trip! But good news, the dealership could replace the ignition switch and get me back on the road by the late afternoon…for $500. The car is well worth the investment as it is running as well as it did when I bought it. It’s a total dog/kid van with a few nicks and tears, but I love it, and “it’s paid for!” So as long as I don’t have to pay $500 a month for car payments, I’ll keep paying $500 a year to repair it.

With five hours lost, I missed my morning dog walk and ended up at home with more to do than time. I still had to finish packing and then load the van. So after a late dinner, Stacey May and I took our walk and I finished packing the van in time for bed.

 

Leave a Reply

