50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Day 17: Improving My Cholesterol Levels – The Organic Way August 23, 2010

I’m glad I only want to lose 3.5 pounds of weight a week. Granted I’m a bit behind due to my New York trip, but I’m hoping steady improvements in my lifestyle will help me reach my long-term weight loss goal of 50 pounds in 100 days.

One improvement I’ve made is slowing introducing “organic” foods into our lives. I’ve learned that simply switching to organic foods, I’m eliminating a lot of “toxins” that my liver has been dealing with for years. Toxins help explain why my sonogram showed that I have a lot of fatty deposits on my liver. It’s been working so hard to get rid of those toxins, that it hasn’t been able to process the fats in my diet.

But organic is expensive. So I’m taking it slow. I’m starting with sea salt, organic eggs, extra-virgin olive oils, real butter, breads and fruits and veggies “on sale.”

Why am I targeting eggs when I have a cholesterol issue?

I’ve learned there’s a BIG difference between regular eggs and organic eggs. Chickens that live a “natural” life produce eggs that are extremely high in omega 3 fats — one of the healthiest types of fats we can eat. Omega 3s create good cholesterol levels. While eggs from commercially raised chickens are high in omega-6 fats because of the feed they eat and lifestyle they live. So while I’m eating organic eggs, yoke and all, I’m actually eating healthier and enjoying my breakfasts more.

 

Leave a Reply

