50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Day 18: My Daily Bread August 23, 2010

Filed under: Mom's Over 50,Weight Loss — Greta @ 12:47 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My body mass index (BMI) says that I’m “moderately fat.” Lucky for me, my fat is spread evenly over my body…my thighs, tushie, and tummy. These are all areas where fat is naturally stored by your body in case of a possible famine. This fat comes from eating too many carbohydrates. It works like this.

Whether you eat bread, cereal, pasta, corn, rice, potato or processed cakes or snacks, eating any carbohydrate creates a rapid rise in blood glucose levels. To handle this increase, your pancreas secretes insulin into the bloodstream to help lower your glucose level. But insulin is the body’s hormone that stores excess carbohydrate calories as fat in the thighs, tushie and tummy. Keeping your insulin level high actually reduces the body’s ability to lose that fat.

But carbohydrates are good for the body; it gives us our fuel and energy to keep going. The trick is to find the right balance of carbs. I only want to eat enough to keep up my energy level, but not enough that my body ends up storing it as fat. So I’m rethinking how I eat.

I’m throwing out the food pyramid and its recommendation of 6 to 11 servings a day. I’m going to decrease my carbs to one portion per meal and when possible eliminate breads, cereals, pastas, corns, rice, potatoes, and processed cakes and snacks from at least one meal a day. Like eating two scrambled eggs and adding veggies into the mix or eating a salad or soup for lunch.

So my thighs, tushie and tummy are going to experience a different kind of famine…a reduction in carbs. By reducing my glucose levels, I’m hoping to bring down my BMI and reward myself with smaller thighs and a smaller tushie and tummy to boot.

 

One Response to “Day 18: My Daily Bread”

  1. ED Says:

    That tushie you plan on losing. Please don’t throw it away. I’d like to take it back with me to Nort Port next Monday.
    Love,
    ed


Leave a Reply

