50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Day 36: Weigh In, Getting Grounded September 8, 2010

In spite of all those things going on in my life, I’m trying to stay focused on my goal of 50 pounds in 100 days. As of today, I weigh 11 pounds less. Not quite on target, but a move in the right direction.

When I started this journey, I read that dietitians say it’s best to lose between .5 to 2.5 pounds a week. I’ve done that. Yet, I wanted to lose 3.5 pounds a week, but things happened. My trip to New York, our best friend’s anniversary weekend of fun, job interviews and now my sister-in-law’s death all happened, but that’s life. So I’m going to keep focused on the things I can control and acknowledge that things I’ve accomplished.

Over the last month, I’ve ridden 170 miles. My Body Mass Index (BMI) is now 29.1 and according to caloriecount.about.com, I’ve gone from moderately overweight to mildly overweight. That’s something. I now weigh what I weighed last November and that makes me feel younger. I don’t drink a soda, I drink more water, I eat healthier and I reduced the amount of toxins I put in my body and that makes me feel better. My clothes are fitting me better and that makes me look better. It’s all good.

And while I can’t change the events that move my life, I can continue to make small changes.

To reduce the stress in my life, I’m going to dust off my Chi Tai DVD and start a new habit. For now, I’m going to practice Chi Tai every night after dinner. I hate that down time between dinner and my 8 p.m. reality show rush so I’m going to fill it positively.

To sculpt my body, I’m going to have to add to my exercise routine. I want to tighten my arms, thighs, and tummy. So I’ll add a series of stretch band exercises to my day and see how that works.

To improve my weekly weight loss, I’m going to try to eat less than 1500 a day, more like 1200 calories. It won’t always be possible, but there have been days I’ve done it without even trying.

There, three more things I can do to reach my goal of 50 pounds in 100 days, 64 days to go!

 

One Response to “Day 36: Weigh In, Getting Grounded”

  1. toeablog Says:

    I wish all of the luck to you. I just started a diet too and I am looking to lose a 100! http://toeablog.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

