50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Days 41, 42, 43: Okay, Okay, Enough With The Stress Already! September 20, 2010

Filed under: Mom's Over 50,Weight Loss — Greta @ 8:47 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

It’s good to be home and back to biking and walking. Unfortunately, the events of the last month have put a damper on my weight loss as I’m holding at 11 pounds. It’s been two weeks, heading toward three. Now that I think about it, I remember why I stopped trying to lose weight last November. I had stopped drinking soft drinks, lost 10 pounds quickly and then hit a wall. I got frustrated and eventually gave into my cravings for sodas. Wow, I had forgotten about that.

As I continued to read about dieting, I’ve read that you can plateau, especially if you’re calorie counting. My latest read is “The Diet Solution.” The author proposes that by eating less I’m “starving my body” and therefore it’s holding onto weight for fear of “famine.” Yet the calorie Counting site I’ve been using says to lose an average of 2 pounds a week, I have to eat less than 1200 calories a day.

The Diet Solution suggests that you stop counting calories and eat based on my metabolism type. I’m the “meat” metabolism type and I should be eating 2,000 calories a day. It’s all so frustrating. But she may be right. It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve seen real weight loss. While I personally think it is stress, I’ll give her method a shot.

 

Leave a Reply

