50 And Losing It Blog

A journey for women over 50 who are looking for renewal and self discovery

Days 50, 51, 52: Half Way There September 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Greta @ 2:08 pm

It’s been 50 or more days since I started this adventure and it’s been a great learning experience. My hubby has lost 13 pounds and I’ve settled at 11 pounds so far. They say it’s easier for men to lose weight and after watching episode after episode of “The Biggest Loser,” I think they are right. Most contestants working 6 to 8 hours a day are only losing 3 pounds on average a week. So I guess I should be happy for 11 pounds.

My only weakness, I still crave sweets. Not desserts, CANDY! I love Swedish fish, caramel, licorice and chocolate. I’ve realize it’s an addiction. The other day I bought a bag of Swedish fish for my son and I just had to have one…I couldn’t resist. I stopped myself at three. And when I traveled back from Maryland late at night, I needed caffeine and sugar to keep going. Do you know 30 pieces of Good N Plenty equals 140 calories? Guilty as charged. I can pass desserts, sugar, ice cream and alcohol…but put candy in front of me and I melt.

The way I’ve been able to keep sweets at bay is by keeping them out of the house…but I’m craving the buggers. Last night I wanted to get in the car to go buy a bag of Swedish Fish. I didn’t, but I wanted to. Is it the candy or the sugar that I really want? The “Diet Solution” says that if I’m craving sugar, I must be eating too many carbs. If I eat less carbs I’m going to be on the Atkins Diet! Nah, I think I just miss my favorite candies. My daughter says it’s because I’m not drinking enough water. She says you get cravings when you don’t drink enough water. Maybe that’s it.

At least I’m not dreaming about sugar-plum fairies.

 

Leave a Reply

